okayawesome: laura roslin (Default)
[personal profile] okayawesome
So while New York is getting buried under mountains of snow, we went to see Avatar! In 3D!

I have thoughts, but I am tired out and cold and kind of tipsy, so suffice to say, it was not half bad. My recommendation: Just assume right from the get-go that you're not going to get even a remotely original story, prepare to be completely unsurprised by everything, and understand that the plot is pretty much secondary. This is all about the pretty, pretty world and the pretty, pretty characters. And shell out for the 3D, it's worth it.

eta ALL THIS SAID, I revise myself the next day: If you have problems with the Dances with Wolves/Pocahontas/etc. "white guy assimilates into native culture and becomes the savior of a dying race" trope, you will have a problem with this story. I managed to enjoy it anyway -- mostly because, like I said, I just switched off my brain at a certain point and went "ooh" -- but it's definitely there. I mean, it basically reads like Cameron saw Dances with Wolves and said "I want to make that with aliens :D" and didn't update at all for 15 years, so take that as you will.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-12-20 05:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stepliana.livejournal.com
I'm so glad you guys decided on 3D! I think the familiarity of the plot actually helped with the movie - you know what's going to happen, so just go ahead and focus on the visuals, you're set.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-12-20 05:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ncc-gqmf.livejournal.com
We actually wound up accidentally in two groups, so while I saw it in 3D, the others saw it in regular. I THINK I MADE THE BETTER CHOICE THERE TBH.

And I'm with you. I bet I'd actually like it much more a second time, because I kept waiting to see if anything unusual was going to happen, LOL.

(no subject)

Date: 2009-12-20 06:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] starxd-sparrow.livejournal.com
Hmm... brilliant advice ;) Thanks.

(Also, brava to the icon! Intuitive usage of the Ahbed ;)

(no subject)

Date: 2009-12-20 11:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ncc-gqmf.livejournal.com
I definitely plan on using Abed for all future movie-related posts. ;)

Profile

okayawesome: laura roslin (Default)
The Profile

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags