Some random Game of Thrones thoughts
May. 30th, 2011 09:03 pm1) Okay, nitpick: am I the only one who is deeply distracted by how totally not pregnant Dany is right now? I don't understand how they're supposed to be making this timeline work. It was really distracting me during the poisoner scene, which was otherwise really well done. I liked that they showed Jorah's side of things -- it makes his choice to protect Dany much more meaningful. Plus, it was pretty menacing when he faced the wineseller. I hadn't thought about this before, but he was probably the one who paid that dude, huh?
2) So yeah, it definitely seems like they're doing a lot more side-character backstory. Theon has, like, 200% more story here than in book one. Unfortunately, I despise Theon, but I suppose I appreciate their commitment to complex
3) On the other hand, you know what side character they are doing an awesome job of? SAMWELL TARLY. AW THAT GUY. I was a little mad they cut out Jon going to Maester Aemon for him, but it looks like they're trying to make their friendship a little more equal, and I can't fault them for that, because they're doing an awesome job with it. AW SAM AND JON. ♥♥♥ That actor is doing an amazing job, too.
5) Also, good job making the weirwoods creepy as balls. Jesus Christ. No wonder everyone is afraid of them.
Skipping a bit and...
4) AHH THAT ENTIRE LAST SCENE WAS SO HARD TO WATCH. I was literally squirming as I watched it. D: D: D: I didn't realize I'd be so affected by something I've read like five times, but I was practically tearing up. Which means I'm pretty much just going to be a fucking wreck for the next three episodes.
So basically, having just reread the book, it seems like this is going to be the timeline for the next bit?: (highlight for spoilers)
Next week, obviously the war starts, Cat gets to Riverrun, Robb is awesome, etc. etc., plus
Episode 9: ...bye Ned. :( Bye, Rhaego. :( Bye, happiness. :(
Episode 10: Bye, Drogo. :( But then HOLY FUCKING SHIT THE KING IN THE NORTH. HOLY FUCKING SHIT DANY. HOLY FUCKING SHIT MOTHER FUCKING GODDAMN DRAGONS the end, enjoy waiting for ten months!
That seems about right, I think, right?